Hardware

I was originally going to title this ‘my hardware’ but thought it was a little too risqué. Just in case anyone wants to know, which is unlikely, my PC is currently made of (yes, I’m a fan of lists):

  • Intel i5 2500K at 3.3GHz (i.e. stock)
  • Asus P8Z68-V Pro motherboard
  • 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600MHz RAM
  • MSI GTX 680 Twin Frozr III/OC 2GB
  • Corsair 850W 80+ Pro Gold PSU
  • Asus Xonar DX sound card
  • Some sort of wi-fi card
  • Crucial M4 128GB SSD
  • Hitachi Deskstar 2TB HDD
  • Generic DVD-ROM drive
  • Fractal Design Define R3 Black case
  • Two Fractal Design 140mm fans, two Scythe Gentle Typhoon 140mm fans and one Yate Loon 180mm fan

That is all. It started off with a GTX 580 (MSI Twin Frozr II/OC) but then I discovered the GTX 680 consumed less power (and would therefore be cooler and quieter) and could run at least three displays at once, so I upgraded. I use it with three Samsung 226BW 22″ monitors at 1680×1050, for a total resolution of 5040×1050. I have all three mounted on a home-made sim racing rig (which also has a Logitech G27 bolted to it) which has since become my general computing seat. I also use an Apple wired full aluminium keyboard and a Logitech G500 mouse and I sometimes use a wired Xbox 360 controller for some games, but not often. So, really, that wasn’t all at all.

The total cost for the PC must be in the region of about £1,500 now, after I went over my original £1,000 budget I stopped counting. All I want to upgrade now is the CPU cooler (using the stock Intel one at the moment), ideally to a Corsair H80 so I can overclock to around 4.4GHz or so. Of course if my case officially supported it, I’d have the H100, but you can’t win them all.

That was the first and only deliberately techy post, I may mention hardware in other posts but I’ll try to avoid it as it’s irrelevant.

TL, DR: My PC plays games!

Leave a Reply

